Species List: 2014 NAMA at Camp Arnold, Eatonville, Washington, USA (784)
When: 2014-10-11
Observations: 1

Notes: Recorded species that lack photos may be absent on this Mushroom Observer list.

Voucher Report for the 2014 North American Mycological Association Foray

Patrice Benson Memorial Foray
Eatonville, Washington
October 8–12, 2014

By Patrick R. Leacock, NAMA Voucher Collection Project, pleacock@fieldmuseum.org

The 2014 NAMA Foray was held at The Salvation Army Camp Arnold, Eatonville, Washington, and hosted by the Puget Sound Mycological Society. Steven A. Trudell, PhD, served as Chief Mycologist. Collecting areas included Mount Rainier National Park, Gifford Pinchot National Forest, Elbe Hills State Forest, other areas of the Cascade Range, and the woods around Camp Arnold. This was the third NAMA foray in Washington, the previous being 1981 and 1993; but it marked the first foray with specimens documented for the NAMA voucher project.

Many thanks go to Adele Mehta, recorder, and the NAMA-sponsored voucher assistants: Joshua M. Birkebak, Hailee B. Korotkin (University of Tennessee, Knoxville), Nikhilesh Desai (Northwestern University, Chicago), and Viacheslav Spirin (University of Helsinki, Finland). Big thanks to the hard work of Trudell and the PSMS foray team and all the other volunteers who gave their time. We thank the board and trustees of NAMA for their continued support of the voucher program. The NAMA specimens are accessioned into the permanent herbarium collection at the Field Museum of Natural History (F) in Chicago, Illinois. Some specimens are in the care of other institutions.

This species list has 462 taxa (genus, species, varieties), comprising 44 ascomycetes (16 lichens), 416 basidiomycetes, 1 zygomycete, and 1 myxomycete. The most diverse genera were Cortinarius (32), Russula (25), Ramaria (16), Tricholoma (14), Inocybe (13), Mycena (13), Amanita (10), and Lactarius (10). Identifications were made by 34 people including Noah Siegel, Joshua M. Birkebak, Steven A. Trudell, Else C. Vellinga, Roy E. Halling, Cathy L. Cripps, Daniel Miller, Viacheslav Spirin, Renée Lebeuf, Paul Kroeger, Thomas D. Bruns, Christine Roberts, Debbie L. Viess, Andrew D. Parker, Michael W. Beug, Patrick R. Leacock, and 18 others, with lichens identified by Fred Rhoades and Katie Glew. There were 471 voucher records but only 443 collections preserved from the foray. Twenty-eight species do not have specimens.

Additional information about the NAMA Voucher Collection Project can be found on the NAMA website (http://namyco.org).


Add Comment
No one has commented yet.