Species List: 2015 NAMA at Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA (962)
When: 2015-09-27
Observations: 4

Notes: Recorded species that lack photos may be absent on this Mushroom Observer list.

Voucher Report for the 2015 North American Mycological Association Foray

Blue Ridge Foray
Asheville, North Carolina
September 24-27, 2015

By Patrick R. Leacock, NAMA Voucher Collection Project. pleacock@fieldmuseum.org

The 2015 annual foray was held September 24 – 27, 2015, at the YMCA Blue Ridge Assembly, Black Mountain, North Carolina. It was hosted by the Asheville Mushroom Club and the Mushroom Club of Georgia. Dr. Alan E. Bessette served as Chief Mycologist. Collecting areas included Blue Ridge Parkway, Dupont State Forest, Lake James State Park, and Pisgah National Forest. This was the fifth NAMA annual foray in North Carolina, the previous being 1974, 1980, 1994, and 2004.

Many thanks go to Adele Mehta, recorder, and the NAMA-sponsored voucher assistants: Thea Chesney, University of California – Berkley; Hailee Korotkin, University of Tennessee; Rachel Swenie, University of Tennessee; and Jessie K Uehling, Duke University. Tremendous thanks to the hard work of Mike Hopping and all the volunteers who operated the display area so well. We thank the board and trustees of NAMA for their continued support of the voucher program. The NAMA specimens are accessioned into the permanent herbarium collection at the Field Museum of Natural History (F).

Molecular work is underway for many of the foray vouchers to generate DNA sequences. La Monte H. P. Yarroll led the work of obtaining tissue samples during the foray from 200 of the vouchers. The DNA sequencing is carried out by Rytas Vilgalys and his students, Duke University.

This species list has 369 taxa (genus, species, varieties), comprising 62 ascomycetes (24 lichens), 305 basidiomycetes, and 2 myxomycetes. The most diverse genera were Amanita (22), Lactarius and Lactifluus (20), Russula (15), and Cortinarius (13). Identifications were made by 30 persons including Alan E. Bessette, Walter E. Sturgeon, Otto Miettinen, Renée Lebeuf, Brian P. Looney, Dorothy C. Smullen (lichens), Rodham E. Tulloss, Arlene R. Bessette, Patrick R. Leacock, N. Jay Justice, and 20 others. There are 381 voucher collections preserved from the foray.

Additional information about the NAMA Voucher Collection project can be found on the NAMA website (http://www.namyco.org/voucher_collection_project.php).


Add Comment
Observations loaded into species list by Shellie Moubray
By: North American Mycological Association (NAMA)
2016-08-12 20:53:48 -05 (-0500)

Many Thanks to Shellie!